BJP’s Preeti Aggarwal elected north Delhi mayor

by Thursday, May 18th, 2017

New Delhi, May 18: BJP councillor Preeti Aggarwal was today elected unopposed as the mayor of north Delhi.
preeti aggarwal

Besides, Vijay Kumar Bhagat was also chosen unopposed as the deputy mayor as no other party had filed nominations for the two posts.

While Aggarwal represents Rohini-F ward (No 57-N), Bhagat had won from ward no 20-N in the high-stakes MCD polls held on April 23.

The saffron party’s strength in the 104 -member New Delhi Municipal Corporation House is 64, while AAP has 21 and Congress 15 councillors. The BSP has one member, while two had won the election independent candidates.

The erstwhile unified Municipal Corporation of Delhi was trifurcated in 2012 into the NDMC, the SDMC and the EDMC. The first MCD polls after the trifurcation was held the same year.

The BJP had bagged 181 of the 270 wards in the civic polls. Delhi has a total of 272 wards — NDMC (104 wards), SDMC (104) and EDMC (64).

  • BSE
    Axis India
    Copyright © 2015 Newsroom Media — All rights reserved Terms of use Privacy Sitemap Authors About us Designed & Developed by : YNG Media
    19 queries in 0.423 seconds