Manohar Parrikar wins floor test in Goa Assembly 22-16

by Thursday, March 16th, 2017

Panaji, Mar 16: Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar on Thursday won the trust vote in the Goa assembly, with 22 MLAs supporting his government. The Congress got the support of 16 legislators.


This was announced by pro tem speaker Siddharth Kunkolienkar after the vote of confidence on the floor.

Vishwajeet Rane of Congress skipped floor test. Churchill Alemao of NCP supported in favour of BJP led Government. The House was later adjourned till Wednesday 22nd March.

In the newly elected Goa Assembly, BJP has strength of 13 MLAs and Congress has 17 members. Three members of MGP and three members of Goa Forward Party and three independents alongwith 1 NCP member today supported the BJP coalition government led by Mr Parrikar. Earlier on Tuesday, the Supreme Court had cleared the decks for the oath taking of Mr Parrikar as CM by refusing Congress’ plea to stay the ceremony. It had ordered holding of the floor test today.

Manohar Parrikar and 9 ministers were administered oath of office and secrecy on Tuesday evening by Governor Mridula Sinha.

  • BSE
    Axis India
    Copyright © 2015 Newsroom Media — All rights reserved Terms of use Privacy Sitemap Authors About us Designed & Developed by : YNG Media
    25 queries in 0.430 seconds